Bill 89, Supporting Children, Youth and Families Act, 2017

Coteau, Hon Michael Minister of Children and Youth Services

Current Status: Royal Assent received Chapter Number: S.O. 2017 C.14

Viewing: Royal Assent (current version) pdf

Debates and Progress

First Reading

December 8, 2016 


Second Reading

February 22, 2017 

Principal Debaters:

 Hon. Michael Coteau, Ms. Sophie Kiwala

 Questions and Comments:

 Mrs. Gila Martow, Miss Monique Taylor, Hon. Mitzie Hunter, Ms. Sylvia Jones

March 1, 2017 

Principal Debaters:

Mrs. Gila Martow, Ms. Sylvia Jones

Questions and Comments:

Miss Monique Taylor, Ms. Sophie Kiwala, Mr. Michael Harris, Mr. Michael Mantha

March 6, 2017 

Principal Debaters:

Miss Monique Taylor, Hon. Liz Sandals, Hon. Kathryn McGarry, Mr. Arthur Potts, Mr. Bill Walker, Mr. Shafiq Qaadri, Mr. Gilles Bisson, Mr. Toby Barrett, Mr. James J. Bradley, Ms. Ann Hoggarth, Hon. Steven Del Duca, Ms. Catherine Fife, Mr. Lou Rinaldi

Questions and Comments:

Mr. Granville Anderson, Mr. Robert Bailey, Mme France GĂ©linas, Ms. Sophie Kiwala,  Ms. Jennifer K. French, Mr. Randy Hillier, Ms. Peggy Sattler, Mr. Randy Pettapiece, Mr. Percy Hatfield, Hon. Michael Coteau, Mr. Jack MacLaren, Mr. Wayne Gates, Mr. John Vanthof, Mr. Han Dong

March 8, 2017 

Principal Debaters:

Mr. Victor Fedeli, Mr. Jagmeet Singh, Mrs. Lisa Gretzky, Mr. Peter Z. Milczyn, Mr. Ted Arnott, Hon. Jeff Leal, Mr. Mrs. Christina Martins, Mr. Granville Anderson, Mr. Todd Smith

Questions and Comments:

Miss Monique Taylor, Ms. Sophie Kiwala,  Mr. Jim McDonell, Mr. Wayne Gates, Mr. Shafiq Qaadri, Mr. Ted Arnott, Mr. Han Dong, Mr. Robert Bailey, Mr. John Fraser

March 9, 2017

Principal Debaters

Mr. Todd Smith, Hon. Reza Moridi

Questions and Comments

Ms. Jennifer K. French, Hon. Reza Moridi, Mr. Sam Oosterhoff, Mr. John Vanthof

Vote deferred. 

March 9, 2017

Carried on recorded division. Referred to the Standing Committee on Justice Policy.  

Motion to Authorize Committee Sitting Times 

March 27, 2017

Declared carried. 


Standing Committee on Justice Policy 

March 29, 2017

March 30, 2017 

April 6, 2017 

April 13, 2017 

April 27, 2017 

May 4, 2017 

May 11, 2017 

May 15, 2017

Reported to the House as amended. Ordered for third reading.

Third Reading

Time Allocation

May 29, 2017

Hon. Liz Sandals, Mrs. Gila Martow, Ms. Jennifer K. French, Mr. Norm Miller, Miss Monique Taylor, Ms. Sophie Kiwala

Vote deferred.  

May 30, 2017

Carried on recorded division.  

May 31, 2017 

Principal Debaters

Hon. Steven Del Duca, Ms. Sophie Kiwala, Miss Monique Taylor, Mrs. Gila Martow

Vote deferred.

June 1, 2017 

Carried on recorded division. 

Royal Assent

 Thursday, June 1, 2017
Current Parliament
Past & Present